Guru Tribute

April 29, 2010

A week ago from last Tuesday (4/20) when I heard the news about Guru, I wrapped things up at work and immediately went home to dig in all my Guru-related material.  When it was all said and done, I had a crate full of Gang Starr LP’s and 12 inches, and original funk and soul samples used by Premier (Skull Snaps, etc.).  I was feeling like I needed to pay homage right then and there, so I hooked up the old tape-dubber, put a needle to a record, and went from there.

The end result is a full Guru tribute via tape, with about 40 minutes of Guru music per side (80 minutes total)…It actually turned out pretty good, so I gave it the official treatment (cover, etc.), and made some extra copies, which you can find at Groove Merchant Records in San Francisco.

They’re selling for $5 a piece, so let me know if you want a copy in the comments section, and we can take it from there…

2 Responses to “Guru Tribute”

  1. Stephen F said

    I need to cop one a dem son! Remind me your address again and I’ll send you money and postage…

  2. BRA$E said

    I got a tape player in my whip and need to bump this. I’m grabbin the mp3’s tho. Good lookin out homie

Leave a Reply

