RIP GURU – Mix By Jerry Nice

April 15, 2011

RIP GURU (mix by Jerry Nice) – Side A

RIP GURU (mix by Jerry Nice) – Side B

The whole reason I decided to get this site going again is because I was reminded recently that’s it’s been a year since one of the greats passed away.  I originally recorded this mix straight to tape, and put out the digitized version a little over a year ago.  Here’s an excerpt from the original post:

The day that GURU died, I immediately felt like I had to do something in tribute to one of the greatest to ever do it.  His influence on me at a young age is one of the reasons I love this music as much as I do, so I felt it necessary to pay homage.  I didn’t have the patience to make a fully-mastered digital copy with flawless editing and scratches, so I hooked up the grimy tape dubber, grabbed every GURU-related piece of vinyl I could muster up, and hit record.

It turned out even better than I thought it’d be, so I made around 30 copies on tape and sold them locally (thanks to The Groove Merchant).  The response was positive, and those original copies sold out, so I decided converting to mp3 might help get this out to the masses (or just the homies without a tape deck).

My good friend E Da Boss helped out with putting this online, so big shout out to him for hooking it up.  Attached above are both sides of the 80 minute tape, with a healthy blend of Guru classics, 12″ remixes, and original samples.  Download for free and spread the word.  Enjoy!

RIP GURU

Leave a Reply

